ARC Review⎜Love to Hate You by Anna Premoli

ARC Review⎜Love to Hate You by Anna PremoliLove to Hate You: A fun, feisty romance by Anna Premoli
Published by Aria on June 1st, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 266
Format: eARC
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Can your worst enemy become the love of your life? A fun, feisty, feel-good romance for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Meg Cabot.

Jennifer and Ian have known each other for seven years. They are leaders of two different teams in the same London bank, and are constantly engaged in a running battle to be number one.

Ian is a handsome, wealthy and sought-after bachelor; Jennifer is a feisty, independent lawyer. When they are thrown together to work on the same project, Ian makes Jenny an offer she can't refuse: to have free reign of their rich client if she pretends to be his girlfriend.

Soon, it becomes more and more difficult to tell the difference between fiction and reality...

This book may be unsuitable for people under 18 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Jennifer Percy and Ian St. John, the count of Langley, have been working in the same London bank for seven years now, but the last time they worked together was five years ago when the two were part of the first tax team wherein Jennifer led the group. Long story short, the appointment did not sit well with Ian, and a huge fight ensued. The company made sure the two would never be in the same group or would never have a joint project… until a certain incident caused Jennifer and Ian to work for Jennifer’s client, Lord Beverly.

As usual, sparks fly–the violent kind–between the two. They are forced to work together on the weekends, even spend time together in Lord Beverly’s estate. In one dinner together to try to form a neutral ground, the two are photographed by paparazzi, and their dinner ‘date’ is all over the tabloids–Jennifer is the ‘New Flame for the Duke of Revington’s Heir’. Ian uses this as an opportunity to keep the women away, and he promises to give Jennifer free reign of their client if she plays along.

Somewhere in their play pretend, things get real. Ian wants a relationship, Jennifer doesn’t (but really, she does). 

I love the fake relationship trope because more often than not, they end up having feelings for each other. The plot of this story is nice, but there were some things that did not sit well with me.

Jennifer and Ian fought like high school students; Jennifer especially. She taunts him all the time, and I don’t know, for someone her age it seems kind of petty. Jennifer tries to be this headstrong woman, but she ends up looking like a mean-spirited woman. 

Their families. It a bit of a Romeo and Juliet with these two. Jennifer’s family are vegetarians against the nobilities, and Ian’s family are from the nobility who enjoy a hunting season here and there. In the end, I couldn’t relate to the characters.

The voice in general. I know this is a translated work, but some parts still felt clunky and weird. 

The last few chapters felt a bit rushed. The pacing in the first half of the book was perfect, but then somewhere in the second half, things started happening much faster. 

The book is fairly light, and I’m sure some would enjoy it more than I did. It’s just not for me.

Purchase your copy of Love to Hate You

 

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Don’t want to miss another post? Subscribe to Of Pens and Pages by e-mail or WordPress.

 

two-half-stars


Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply